Stuck

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Feeling so loved post recital!

It all started with a couple of friends who wanted to vary their fitness routine. We were walking along the river when one of them, who has a daughter who dances several times a week, suggested that we sign up for an adult tap class. I was excited about the idea, so on a Thursday evening in September, I found myself at The Dance Class for my first dance class in 30 years.

 

You may have read about my first tap class in a previous post. I’ve learned so much about myself since then. What I didn’t include in that initial post was that my two friends eventually got to the point where they decided tap was not for them. Still, the class continued, and one day the two teachers (who are PHENOMENAL) asked us all what our goals were for the year. When it was my turn, I said,

When I first started out, I was here with a couple of friends who just wanted to get a little more active. They decided it wasn’t for them, but I’m going to make it to that recital!

13427845_1304271269587492_6587826529630051593_n

The incredible, encouraging, supportive women from the adult tap class at The Dance Class (Photo from Brooke)

As of last night, I met my goal! I had the time of my life performing to Caro Emerald’s “Stuck” with about a dozen other ladies from my adult tap class, and now it seems so surreal.  I’ve learned so much this year about discipline, self confidence, dedication and yes, being fearless. It takes some guts to try something new. It takes guts to admit you didn’t get it right the first time. And it takes guts to keep on trying. It takes guts to get out and perform in front of hundreds of people. It takes guts to do all this with people who you barely know but grow to trust.

Most importantly, I’ve learned that life will present you with all kinds of opportunities, and when you choose to be a little brave, you gain so much. In tap class, I learned that there are some things I can let go of (like the need to be perfect or that being an introvert means that I have to be alone all the time), and when I do that, I feel free. I hate to think about what would have happened if I didn’t choose to stick around. I would have missed out on so much fun! I would have been “stuck” at home on Thursday nights “with nothing to do.” And I would have missed out on so many life lessons that I learned from my amazing tap mates. In the words of Barbara, who teaches ballet, but tapped for the first time this year, “It has been good for me to be a beginner in something.” Same here, Barbara! After all, beginning something new can be scary, but it is also an exciting adventure!

I’m actually a little that it’s over, but I am looking forward to next year. ‘Til then, I’ll be basking in the fun times I had this year…and maybe watching some Operation Tap videos so I don’t get too rusty for the fall. 😉

13413647_1303968269617792_8252025296393164269_n

That’s me in the red dress photobombing and admiring the adult jazz class…Maybe I should do jazz next year? (Photo from Brooke)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

