Did Someone Steal My Chocolate? (and other concerns inspired by Mindy Kaling)

I am completely disappointed in myself for never finishing this blog four years ago. I just now noticed it saved in my drafts and have decided to publish it so as not to further disappoint the me of 2012.

**************************

Post from 2012

I am a self-confessed bibliophile. Yes, I’m the girl you see in the bookstore with a big doofy look on her face as she scans the spines of numerous books while trying to select which ones will get the privilege of going home with her. I’m also the girl who is interested in a man who has somehow managed to maintain 4 library cards. I’m also the girl you almost hit with a frisbee at the park while she was engrossed in Hemingway. Yep. I’m THAT girl.

I have to say that out of all the books I’ve read this year, Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging out without Me (and other Concerns) is one of my favorites.

ImageHere…a few things that I learned about myself and in part because of Mindy Kaling, feel no longer embarrassed about:

1. I hoard candy.

2. I post pictures of what I cook on instagram, hoping that people will ask me to invite them to dinner.

3. I put up a hip hop facade, but down in my heart I’ve been listening to (and liking) country music since I was 12.

**************************

Flash forward to today

I’ll say that some things never change.

I still think that Mindy Kaling is hilarious although I’m too cheap to pay for the Hulu subscription that will allow me to continue watching her on The Mindy Project.

I also continue to hoard candy, fish for dinner guests and tap my boots to country music.

What has surprised me is that I don’t hide those things anymore; nor am I embarrassed to admit that they are a part of me. It’s refreshing to know that I’ve gotten to the point where I no longer feel like I have to hide certain parts of me that I once felt I had to keep under wraps. Successful women (like Mindy Kaling and so many others) don’t feel the need to hide things about themselves. Why should I? I’m just as fabulous (right?)

Are there still things that I feel like I need to hide? Of course. No one really knows where I hide the good chocolate. No one can take that away from me. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did Someone Steal My Chocolate? (and other concerns inspired by Mindy Kaling)

  1. This is on my tbr! Glad to hear that you still like it 🙂

    • v55173w says:

      She’s just so relateable! And the book is an fun read…She makes you feel like you’re her best friend. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

