Apricot Thumbprint Tea Cookies

A friend of mine and I were sitting by the pool one afternoon when she said, “We have so many apricots in my backyard right now that my mom is threatening to divorce my dad if he doesn’t chop the tree down.”

It was a joke, of course, but when she offered me some apricots, I couldn’t resist…all for the sake of saving a marriage, of course.

A gallon sized plastic bag filled with apricots sat in my freezer for about a week as I tried to figure out what to do with them. When a coworker called me to bring a dish for a reception, I frantically did a search (on Pinterest, of course) for apricot recipes. I found a few apricot jam recipes and a thumbprint cookie recipe that used raspberry jam. IMG_20140823_083329I figured I could easily substitute apricots.

I had never made jam before, but I certainly had enough apricots to make a good sized batch. I followed a recipe that called for only three ingredients: apricots, lemon juice and sugar.

I boiled on medium high for about 25 minutes, stirring frequently like I was supposed to so that the mixture wouldn’t stick to the pot. There were a few splatter moments because the pot I used wasn’t quite as tall as a stock pot, but it turned out to be well worth it. I probably could have let it go for just 20 minutes rather than the 20, but at least it didn’t burn. It just turned out a little but darker than I expected it to.

20140823_102014If I were in the fashion business, I would have sent this back to the drawing board since the finished product is definitely more of a cranberry color than apricot. Fortunately for this recipe, I’m no Anna Wintour. The finished product made my kitchen smell delicious, and my mouth had no complaints either. It was sweet but not so overwhelming that I couldn’t taste fruit.

I was excited to use it in the cookies. As I mixed the dough for the cookies, I ran into a snafu (or a disaster, depending on how you look at it). I don’t like to admit it, but my hand mixer is actually already on its last leg as I somehow lost one of the beaters.  So of course, I wasn’t too thrilled when I was creaming my butter and sugar together and this happened:20140823_104329

 

My other beater gave out on me, too! I ended up having to continue mixing by hand. As I mixed, I formulated a letter in my head to the hand mixer people about their faulty equipment. But then I remembered that you can taste emotions in food and tried my best to think happy thoughts. 😀

I believe that it worked because my ending result was quite good. The recipe called for almond extract. I used vanilla extract instead because I didn’t have almond extract. I did, however, make a little over a dozen cookies that I rolled in chopped almonds. The end result looked and tasted delicious! I can’t wait to share them at the reception…and I think I’m going to have to sign a contract for more apricots next summer!

IMG_20140823_120000

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

