Honestly, I Want to See You be BRAVE

At the beginning of this year, I got a major haircut. I told the stylist to do whatever she wanted, something I had never done before. Although my adventure from a shoulder length bob to a seriously short ‘do was a minor one, it encouraged me to do something I had never done before each month. From rock climbing to taking a painting class, this personal challenge has been rewarding so far. I’ve been pleased with what I’ve learned so far and even picked up some new hobbies, but more importantly, these mini adventures have taugt me to get out of my comfort zone and helped me to set goals I have always wanted to achieve.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to write a book, but I’ve never known what to write about. I was always haunted by the Drew Barrymore quote from Never Been Kissed:

In order to write well, you have to write what you know.

All around me I have come to know that people like to challenge themselves, and a lot of them want to pursue their passion. I’m pursuing mine by pulling these stories into chapters and even if I’m the only one who ever reads it, I will write that book.

image

Shoutout to Evernote for helping me organize my thoughts!

I’m inspired by my friend, Alex, who has been taking an unconventional path to pursue her dream of travelling and writing.

image

I’m inspired by my brother, Mike, who left a comfortable career to open a nonprofit, In Birmingham Weightlifting

I’m inspired by anyone who has been BRAVE enough to ask themselves, “What’s my true dream?”

May they move towards what they are passionae about and then be able to say, “I’m living my dream.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

