The Cold Never Bothered Me Anyway

Image

I guess I’m a little late to the party, but I finally watched Disney’s latest hit movie, Frozen, last week with my cousin’s family. Her two daughters, ages 3 and 5, had been playing with Anna and Elsa dolls during my entire visit, and I was excited to finally see what the fuss was all about.

We all curled up in the play room and when the movie started, I immediately saw what made it so appealing. The catchy music and endearing characters are some of the best Disney has come out with in years. And who didn’t fall in love with little Anna as she climbed into her sister’s bed and asked, “Do you want to build a snowman?”

As the sisters got older, I couldn’t help but think that they’re as different as night and day, or in modern terms, classic examples of an introvert and an extrovert.

Anna’s excitement over opening the gates sharply contrasts Elsa “shutting everyone out.” Anna falls in love quickly with Prince Hans while Elsa cautions against first impressions. Anna’s proposed solutions are prompted by actions while Elsa contemplates decisions before taking action.

While I admire Anna’s friendly, hopeful character, I have to admit that I’m a lot more like Elsa. I’m among the many who was thrilled when Susan Cain came out with her book, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking. When Elsa retreated and built her ice palace after freezing Arendelle, I couldn’t help but think, “That’s what I would have done.”

I definitely have a tendency to retreat when I know I’ve disappointed people or when I’ve done something wrong. I back off when I feel like I may hurt others or they may hurt me. I like to avoid conflict.

Admittedly, this is done at the expense of making new friends and taking advantage of new experiences. While I value my alone time, I acknowledge that it can get lonely, and I sometimes envy people who have no problem with putting themselves right in the center of attention as if they were there since the beginning of time.

I know that my life isn’t a Disney movie, but I still hope for a happy ending. Ultimately, Queen Elsa realizes that the answer isn’t running away. The answer is love. I guess that holds true in real life, too. Whenever I feel lonely, whenver I feel like conflict is going to take over, I simply need to remember this:

Some people are worth melting for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cold Never Bothered Me Anyway

  1. I love this movie…I was in tears 7 minutes into it lol…and im a 35 year old man.

  2. just a dad says:

    Great review of Frozen! Looks like you think about Disney movies as much as I do! Love for you to check out my blog. I go into stuff like this waaaaaay too much. Try to keep a silly spin on it as well. http://justadadwithquestions.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

