Finding Your Style

I once was told that when you’re trying to figure out what style of clothing fits you best, you should go through a magazine or catalog and tear out the outfits that you find appealing. Then, once you’ve done that, you should look to see what factors the photos each have in common. Today while preparing to clear out some catalogs, I decided to do this with an H&M catalog. This is what I came up with:

ImageI didn’t tear out too many, but I think that my style is pretty clear.

I love feminine clothing.

I’m partial to dresses and skirts.

Trench coats are my outerwear of choice.

I like neutral colors best and am likely to stray away from bold, bright colors, opting instead for simple hues that go with everything.

I guess that this assessment pretty much hits the nail. The majority of my closet is composed of skirts and flowy or ruffly tops. I like for people to walk into my closet and know that it belongs to a female. I’m not a fan of just t-shirts and jeans–unless the t-shirt has bows or pretty patterns on it.

But perhaps the most accurate description of my style is exactly what the center photo says: Modern Classics

It sounds a little bit like an oxymoron, doesn’t it? How can something be both modern AND classic?

I think that it’s all about taking pieces that could have been worn back in a previous decade and still looks great today. I love it when you can look at a fashion icon like Audrey Hepburn and still emulate her style today. (I feel the same way about Duchess of Cambridge Kate Middleton!)

But ultimately, this and all style is all about what makes you feel beautiful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Your Style

  1. Very nice post and It’s pretty much important that one should know what style he/she exactly likes.

Leave a Reply

