Skinny but Weak

20140215_132152Why do you exercise when you’re skinny?

You’re so skinny. I bet you can eat whatever you want.

You look like you need a sandwich.

You need a little more meat on your bones.

Eat more.

Are you anorexic?

These are all phrases that I’ve heard in the past ten years or so, and while some people may be flattered by being called “skinny,” I am not.

You see, most (if not all) women have some kind of insecurity with their bodies. Sometimes it’s their hair or their legs or their eyes. Often times, it’s their weight, and I don’t think it’s okay to every criticize her weight–this includes being told that you’re “too skinny.”

Sure I’ve had a lot of women come up to me and say that I’m lucky for being thin, and that they’d eat everything they wanted to if they looked like me. Trust me,  I’ve tried doing that, and I just end up regretting the McDonald’s, Doritos and Oreos.

It doesn’t help when models coin phrases like “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.”

Skinny feels like not finding clothes that fit properly.

Skinny feels like people looking at you like you’re starving.

Skinny feels like a man telling you that you need a boob job.

Skinny is a man telling you that you’d be so much more attractive if you had more curves.

Skinny feels like fearing you won’t be able to bare children because you’re afraid your body won’t be able to support it.

Skinny feels like breaking down after a workout.

Skinny feels like your peers assuming that you’re weak because you’re a few pounds underweight.

Skinny feels like hating your body because you look like a 12 year old boy.

I guarantee that anything from fried chicken to spinach tastes way better than skinny feels.

This is why I’ve been trying to gain some weight and strengthen my body. Sure people may look disgusted whenever I talk about what I’m having for dinner or my goals to exercise more for the sake of adding some muscle to my frame. People may roll their eyes when I get excited about getting toned up with pure barre.

Ultimately, my goal is that I’ll stop being called skinny and instead be recognized as healthy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

