The Obligatory New Years Resolution Post

In case you haven’t looked at the calendar or crawled out from under your rock, it’s 2014. If you’re anything like me, you’ve gotten too old or don’t have enough willing friends (both applied to me this year) to go out with for New Year’s Eve. December 31st found me at home watching Kathy Griffin handcuff herself to Anderson Cooper (poor guy).

Although I don’t typically advocate waiting until the first of the new year to make positive changed, I started thinking of what I could do as the confetti was swept away.

Some of my goals are serious. Others not so much, but here they are:

1. Do something new at least every other month. Initially I thought I could do this every month, but I feel like this is more realistic. I started in January by getting a new super short haircut, something I thought I’d never do. I knew that I wanted a new cut and went with my sister to Mali’s Salon (see my review here). I’ve never had my hair this short, and I loved it when I walked out of the salon, and although it’s taking a little bit of getting used to, I’m enjoying experimenting with it to see what I like best.

Image

Before

Image

After

I’m pretty sure that at some point I may think to myself  “What have I done?” but I think I’ll be okay. It’s just hair. It will grow back. But still, trying new things can’t always be undone, but I think that in resolving to be a little more adventurous, I’ll look back on this year and be glad that I took a few chances. And plus, it will give me something to blog about at least every other month.

2. Learn how to use make-up and actually use it.-I have never been the type to put time and effort into make-up, but I’ve been told several times that I look a lot younger than I actually am. People are usually off by about ten years. While many people may think of this as a plus, I’m getting a little tired of being told I look like a little kid.

I figure that if I learn how to apply make-up properly I can make myself look like I’m a little closer to my age…and not get carded all the time. My sorority sister has been posting some great tutorials online, so I figure she’ll be a great teacher.

3. Invest-I’ve been pretty good with managing my money. Aside from one car loan, I pride myself on being debt-free. However, I think I can improve on “making my money work for me.” I have some friends who swear by Dave Ramsey and I’ve already started taking some tips from LearnVest and Mint.com, but I think that it’s going to take me actually talking to a financial planner who knows how to direct me based on what I want and my (lack of) knowledge in investing.

I figure three goals are manageable. Any more than that, I feel like I’m setting myself up for failure and any less I’m not aiming high enough.

What are your resolutions for the new year? Any tips on how I can accomplish these?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Obligatory New Years Resolution Post

  1. Pingback: My First Time: Sparkling Wine | Everything Turned Upside Down

Leave a Reply

