It Looked Better on Pinterest Part VII: Apple Crisp

One of the best things about living in Washington state is the great abundance of fresh produce that we get year round. I love going to the farmers market on Fridays in the summer, and I love fall harvests. And of course I love Washington apples!

ImageMy personal favorite are Honey Crisp apples, but a co-worker had a bunch of Golden Delicious and Braeburn apples that she was willing to share. She also gave me some homemade apple sauce that she had made and told me that she had more apples if I should ever want any more.

As much as I love fresh fruit, I eventually got to the point where I realized that I would have to either give some of what she gave me away or watch them go bad.

Just my luck-I got invited to a little Halloween get together. The hosts were making enchiladas, and I decided to make dessert. Of course I turned to Pinterest and found this recipe from The Happy Housewife. 

It looked simple enough with just six ingredients.  I remembered what a pain it is to cut and peel apples, but I hoped it would be well worth it.

apples and cinnamonThe recipe called for “liberal amounts” of cinnamon, but clearly I was running short. I ended up using the rest of what I had in my cinnamon jar.

apples uncooked

Then, you’re supposed to mix 1 cup of flour, 1 stick of butter and 1 cup of sugar for the topping. So easy to remember! I actually ended up using 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.

apple crisp finished productThis was the finished product. I feel like this epitomizes the “It looked better in Pinterest” theme. I had forgotten how much apples cook down, so it was a lot thinner than I expected it to be. I used 7 apples, but next time I would definitely use more to bulk it up a bit.

Fortunately, it still tasted great. We ate it with vanilla ice cream and enjoyed an evening with great friendship interrupted only by trick-or-treaters. It was a good year for superhero costumes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

