It Looked Better on Pinterest, Part V: French Macarons

What better way to spend a Saturday than to browse Pinterest?

I came across this recipe which I pinned after seeing it on a friend’s Facebook page. I tried macarons from Katella Bakery for the first time this past Christmas and thought they were delicious, but I was discouraged from trying to make my own because I had heard they were pretty time-intensive.

image

Then, I found the recipe my pal used on the Better Homes and Gardens site and decided to give it a try. What did I have to lose?

Here’s how it went:

image

First, I had to make almond flour since I couldn’t find any in my grocery store and the health food store was closed. It wasn’t so hard to do with my trusty Magic Bullet. The recipe then directed me to mix the almond flour with 2 cups of powdered sugar and 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder.

image

After sending the almond flour/powdered sugar mixer through a sieve, I made a meringue to mix into the dry ingredients:

image

I had forgotten how long it took to form the “stiff peaks,” and I almost gave up, but I suggest being patient. The end result pays off!

image

I was a bit skeptical as I was piping the cookies out onto the cookie sheet. The recipe called for quarter sized cookies, which seemed small to me, but fret not. They settle and get bigger. This is what they look like after baking:

image

Not too shabby for the first time I’m giving these things a try, but I would definitely suggest adjusting bake time according to your oven. The recipe says about 16 months at 325 degrees, but I found that was a little too long or perhaps too hot for my oven. Some of my cookies were slightly burned.

Unfortunately, I forgot to snap a pic of the ganache, but that process was simple enough. Just remember to chill it in the freezer instead of the fridge if you want it to firm up properly.

image

This was my end result, which I was pretty happy with considering it was my first time. Of course, it can use some touching up and tweaking, but I’m excited to try it again with different flavors.

Lesson of the day: Don’t allow yourself to be intimidated by new recipes. You really have nothing to lose. 🙂

This entry was posted in It Looked Better on Pinterest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

