It Looked Better on Pinterest Part IV: Cauliflower Pizza

So it seems like all the rage in health circles right now is the gluten free diet, to which I say “to each his own.” But I had no clue how I would possibly live without the pastas and breads that I love. Then, a friend of mine posted about her adventures making a cauliflower pizza. I was intrigued.

I must say first that I love vegetables and fruits. The fresher the better. But I always pass on the cauliflower at the grocery store because I never really know what to do with it. But when I started seeing more friends try this crust alternative, I figured I’d give it a try. I used this recipe from the Heart Mind and Seoul blog.

I was actually talking to my mom right before I started this recipe. She said, “I guess I’ll let you go now. A cauliflower pizza sounds like a long process.” Gotta love moms, right?

image

I started with a process called “ricing the cauliflower.” Sounded strange at first, but I never say no to a chance to use my Magic Bullet.

image

I loved being able to add my own seasonings to the crust. I added a little bit of mozzarella, two minced cloves of garlic and Italian seasoning. I don’t trust store bought blends, so I make my own from dry basil, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper.

image

This is what the crust looks like after baking it for about 15 minutes at 450 degrees.

image

Of course the nice thing about making your own pizza is controlling what does (and doesn’t) go into it. I picked simple stuff.

image

Here’s a picture of my sous chef. 🙂

image

And here is the finished product.

In all honesty, it tastes pretty good! The crust wasn’t as crispy as I would have liked, but I think that can be remedied by leaving it in the oven for a little while longer. Can’t wait to try it again with a more diverse set of toppings. And I am certain that the cauliflower counts as one of my veggie servings for the day. Can’t argue with that!

This entry was posted in food, It Looked Better on Pinterest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

