It Looked Better on Pinterest, Part III: Parsnip Fries

I love French fries.

It’s hard for me to pass up a perfectly fried potato. Sweet potato, waffle, shoestring, curly. I love them all!

I also know, however, that they aren’t particularly good for you. That’s why I was pleased when David Pollack posted this recipe for parsnip fries. Although I never considered a carrot-like vegetable as a viable substitute for my favorite fried indulgence, I decided to give it a go.

image

I started out with about a pound of parsnips. I had a hard time chopping them. They seem to be a bit firmer and perhaps more fibrous than carrots, but I managed to get them into the strips that the recipe called for. And maybe I just didn’t select the best parsnips at the grocery store. (Any tips on what makes a parsnip the creme of the crop?)

image

I think what made this recipe so good was the use of fresh rosemary. I had always heard of pairing rosemary with meats but probably wouldn’t have thought to put it on any kind of french fry.

image

Roughly 25 minutes later, I had this delicious lunch. I paired my fries with some leftover chicken parm. Yum!

The verdict on the fries: They are definitely a great substitute for French fries, but I can’t see myself giving up Mr. Potato completely. Also when the recipe says to cook in a single layer, it’s a good idea to do so. Otherwise, you end up with some fries that are a lot more tender and some that are just plain undercooked.

Do you have any favorite substitutes for not so healthy foods?

This entry was posted in 30X30 Closet Remix Challenge, Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

