This Bytes.

Yesterday while I was at work, I started thinking about how many things people do in front of computers that drive me nuts. Since I implemented “Screenless Fridays,” I wasn’t able to blog about it until today.

So here they are…things that I think totally BYTE!

Hashtag Abuse

With the rise of Twitter, hashtags have become a popular way to draw attention to a particular topic of interest. A couple of weeks ago, a colleague of mine pointed out how much he hates it when a phrase after a hashtag is longer than the actual comment or tweet.

#whywouldanyonecareifahashtagisactuallygoingtotakeyoutorelatedpostsanyway

I had to agree that overly lengthy hashtags are pretty annoying, but what drives me even more nuts is when people use them on forums where they’re pretty much useless. I can understand using them on Instagram or Twitter because you can click on them and find related posts. But why do people use them on Facebook? Or even worse, why do people use them in everyday conversation? I suspect that people who do such things are just trying to look hip…but really they just look like they don’t know what’s going on.

Pre-made Word Templates
Image

The worst offense is with PowerPoint. Those templates are just plain ugly. I’d fall asleep during a presentation if it used that sun shining in the darkness template. But the pre-made certificates, resumes and business cards are pretty bad, too.

“Like” this, “Like” that.

Image

Gone are the days when a “thumbs-up” was just a “thumbs-up.” I’m now one of the millions of people who associates an opposable joint with liking something on Facebook. While I understand the convenience in a single click to indicate online approval, what I don’t get is why people feel the need to point out the fact that they were the “first” to like something. And why are people saying “like my status/picture/link” IF you’re a child of the 80s, 90s, 00s. It makes me want to say “Like my post” if you’re sick of attention hungry like-a-holics.

Stupid fonts

So more than anything, the “stupid fonts” refers to Comic sans. I hate comic sans. I once read somewhere that the only time it is acceptable to use this atrocious font is when you’re an 8-year old girl writing a poem about unicorns. I have to agree.

Negative attitudes

And the thing I hate most about people online is constant self-destruction.Sure, everyone is entitled to a bad day status, but what drives me NUTS are the trolls who seem to live on YouTube, Facebook, op-eds, etc just for the sake of putting people down. And plus, why is there such a need to talk about how ugly, stupid, untalented, unloved and generally how unhappy you are online?

The Internet has undoubtedly brought unlimited opportunities to make new connections, and it’s definitely made the world a little bit smaller. So why not use it to make things a little bit better one keystroke at a time?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

