It Looked Better on Pinterest, Part I: Oreo Truffles

First of all, thank you and welcome to all of my new followers! I made a pledge to myself that I’d write/blog more because I love expressing myself with words. I’m happy that you’re following my posts and I hope that I offer some semi-interesting thoughts here.

Now on with the show…

I’ll admit it. I’m addicted to Pinterest.

I use it to collect images of clothes I want to buy but can’t afford; crafts made from toilet paper tubes, places I’d like to go to when I find the time and most often recipes that look delicious but I would probably never try.

I’ve decided to turn a new leaf and actually try some of the things that I’ve pinned. First attempt: Oreo Truffles

I have a coworker who is super talented at creating all things sweet. She makes amazing truffles, and I’ve been dying to try to make them myself. I’ve seen this recipe for Oreo truffles all over Pinterest and decided to give it a try. I figured that with only three ingredients, there would be little chance of me messing it up.

Here’s the story of my attempt:

I used the Better Homes and Gardens recipe.

Image

Step 1: Crush the Oreo cookies. I used my Magic Bullet. I don’t care what anyone says. It really is the personal, versatile countertop magician. As you can see, Mary and Jesus like to watch me when I cook. 😀

Image

Step 2: Combine cream cheese with the cookie crumbs. Easy enough…

ImageStep 3: Roll balls out of the cookie-cream cheese mixture. Place in freezer for about 10 minutes. So far so good!

Image

Step 4: Melt white chocolate and coat truffles in white chocolate. Ummm…I guess this is where I ran into a problem. First of all, I only halfway blame it on me as the circuit blew out when I was melting the chocolate in the microwave. While I waited for the maintenance guy to fix my electricity (thanks, Mark…without you, this post would not be possible!), the chocolate sat on the countertop and hardened. That meant I had to re-melt it. Even then, it wouldn’t melt very well. (Anyone have any chocolate melting tips?)

But still, I decided that the show must go on and I attempted to coat the rest of my truffles. I used several different utensils to try to get an even coating (fork, spoon, fingers, tongs…) and I still got some parts that don’t have any white chocolate on them.

After coating the truffles, you’re supposed to freeze them again for a few minutes so that the chocolate sets. I tried one, and it still tasted good.

Lesson learned: I need a better camera so that my food looks as good as it does on Better Homes and Gardens. 😀

This entry was posted in food, It Looked Better on Pinterest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

