Great Minds

Photo from here

I’ve heard this quote over and over again, and of course, I feel like there’s some truth to it (otherwise it wouldn’t end up on my blog).

But it feels especially relevant now.

I don’t enjoy tabloid magazines that keep me up to date on who’s dating whom in Hollywood. Over the years, I’ve learned to keep my mouth shut and guard up when it comes to my personal life..

I can talk about current events all day long and election season and all its politicking are like Christmas for me. So I guess you can say I’ve gotten good at discussing events. But that leaves me with an average mind.

I recently got into an argument with a friend–one that I’ve been playing over and over in my mind…one that I wish I can take back but obviously can’t. I couldn’t say what I wanted to say. It wasn’t about politics. It wasn’t about the news. It was about something far more abstract, and I just couldn’t find the right words.  My mind and what was coming out of it–were average.

Maybe that’s why great minds are so great. They can take the abstract and make it into something more concrete. They can make flesh from something that they’ve pulled from their hearts. They make visible the invisible. And they do it so effortlessly, persuading us to do the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

