My 5 Guilty Pleasures

I have a friend who watches a lot of trashy TV (we’re talking the Real Housewives series, Jersey Shore, and pretty much anything that comes on ABC Family.) Every time I catch her tuned in to any of these shows, she says “If you tell anyone I watch this, I will deny, deny, deny.”

I laughed, but it made me realize that I’m just as bad. As much as I like for people to believe that I watch C-Span and indulge in proper literature all day, I have my own guilty pleasures–and they aren’t limited to prime time TV. Here are my confessions:

1. The Jenna Marbles vlog

She has the biggest potty mouth I’ve ever heard, but she cracks me up…and yes, I do check back every Wednesday for new videos.

2. Say Yes to the Dress

Yeah, I know. So much pressure. So much expectation. But really, I can’t stop watching the marathons on TLC. Extra bonus points when the Atlanta version comes on. Gotta love southern belles who look sweet but are all spice! Who can resist shopowner Lori saying, “Let’s jack you up!” Every time I watch this show, I think of the Men’s Wearhouse commercial when the owner says “Remember…on your wedding day, when everyone is looking at her, she will be looking at you.” ♥

3. Harry Potter movies

After resisting the series for years, I finally gave in and read all 7 books. Now, every time I see the movies on TV, I feel the need to watch them. Most of the time I’m only halfway paying attention to the screen, but my mind will still wander to what it would be like to ride on a broomstick and drink butterbeer. (Wizarding World of Harry Potter here I come!)

4. Pinterest

Talk about a self-indulgent time consumer! So, not only do I spend time looking at recipes I’ll never make, clothes I’ll never buy, crafts I’ll never create and quotes that I’ll never say out loud, but I also search the web looking for things to pin. And after I’ve pinned something, I’ll keep looking back to see if anyone has re-pinned or liked what I posted. And yes, I purposely post high end fashion and gourmet food in hopes that it will boost my repin rate.

5. PostSecret

It’s just fun to laugh at other people’s innermost thoughts and believe that you’re not the only weirdo out there.

So here’s my question–as bad and as embarrassing these time consumers may be, why do we have such a hard time admitting our affinity towards them? In the grand scheme of things, they’re not really that bad. How many people am I going to hurt when I lounge on the couch with a bag of kettle chips in sweatpants as I watch bridal breakdowns at Kleinfeld’s? And plus, people wouldn’t post things online if they didn’t want me to read them. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 5 Guilty Pleasures

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Post secrets is a website? Or is it a show?

    • v55173w says:

      It’s a website. People send in postcards with their secrets and then they end up on the site. It’s quite interesting…www.postsecret.com

Leave a Reply

